Massive Cuestars entry for Q School

MORE than 10 per cent of the entries for this year’s Q School are Cuestars members.

John Hunter described the numbers as “amazing”.

And he added: “With a bit of luck we’ll get a few players seeded for Q Tour and, if things go incredibly well, someone may get on the World Snooker Tour.

World Snooker’s Q School, which awards two-year professional tour cards to the four semi-finalists in each of the two tournaments, kicks off tomorrow (May 26) at the Morningside Arena in Leicester.

Billy Castle and Jamie Wilson are hoping to regain their professional status. Aidan Murphy is there as our Joe Perry Under-21 Super Series champion.

A staggering total of 23 current Cuestars members have paid their £600 entry fee to be among the 208-strong field.

Our players are:

Labeeb Ahmed (Chessington), Connor Benzey (Eastleigh), Ronnie Blake (Sutton), Billy Castle (Reading), Bradley Cowdroy (Bournemouth), Neil Craycraft (Didcot), Simon Dent (Shoreham-by-Sea), Ian Desmier (Chilton Polden, Somerset), Mike Finn (Eastleigh), Jack Haley (Harlow), James Height (Shepton Mallet, Somerset), Dharminder Singh Lilly (Fareham), Mickey Joyce (Basingstoke), Mark Lloyd (Gosport), Aidan Murphy (Bristol), Aristos Pampouris (Chingford, London), Evan Plummer (Coulsdon), Dylan Smith (Tunbridge Wells), Ronnie Sullivan (Chipstead, Surrey), Oliver Sykes (Chandler’s Ford), Wayne Townsend (Northolt, West London), Daniel Webb (Bournemouth), Jamie Wilson (Havant).

Apologies if we have missed any.