Ford clinches first Seniors ranking title

MATT Ford ended a busy weekend by claiming his first rankings title on the Cuestars Seniors (40+) Snooker Tour.

The 46-year-old from Bracknell (pictured) pocketed £100 in prize money after beating rival John Hunter 2-0 in the final of the third leg at Chandlers Ford Snooker Club.

Hunter (Andover) needed to win to snatch first place.

Ford dropped only one frame all day, against John Monckton (Gloucester) in the last-four.

But the World Seniors Tour player knew he was sharp after competing in Pro-Ams in Reading over the previous two days.

“I knew I was cueing well, coming into today,” he said.

“It’s been a good day. I played quite solid and made a few breaks.

Ford has appeared in all three finals during this Covid-shortened season, losing to Dharminder Singh Lilly in Fareham and Hunter in Swindon.

The massive 26-strong field for the event, sponsored by Fair Oak-based Muddiman Building Services, returned 16 breaks of 40 or more. Hunter’s 96 in his opening group-stage match against Nigel Phillips (Farnborough) was the day’s highest.

Hunter (second picture) was presented with the Masters trophy for topping the over-55 rankings, which includes the midweek Masters Tour and points won by those players in Seniors events.

For more information about Muddiman Building Services, go to

The 2021/22 season kicks off on Sunday, November 28, with Fareham Snooker Club hosting the first of the eight legs.


John Hunter: 96, 44.
Matt Ford: 70, 67, 58, 49, 47, 42.
Paul Lawrence: 65.
Shane Hatfield: 49.
Steve Wheatland: 48.
John Monckton: 47, 42.
Nigel Phillips: 45.
Frank Gumbrell: 42
Anthony Cutler: 41.


GROUP A: 1st, Matt Ford (Sunninghill Comrades); 2nd, Martin Wallace (Crucible, Newbury); 3rd, David Brock (Exeter SC); 4th, Richard Arnold (Salisbury SC).

GROUP B: 1st, John Hunter (Salisbury SC); 2nd, Nigel Phillips (Sovereign, Farnborough); 3rd, Dan Hammond (Chandlers Ford SC); 4th, Stu Barter (Chandlers Ford SC).

GROUP C: 1st, Aaron Downey (Sovereign, Farnborough); 2nd, Steve Wheatland (Chandlers Ford SC); 3rd, Andrew Darken (Feltham Constitutional Club); 4th, Gareth Samuel (Lytchett United RBL).

GROUP D: 1st, Shane Hatfield (Greenbaize, Bournemouth); 2nd, Paul Lawrence (Park Gate RBL); 3rd, Stephen Hills (Northfleet Traders Club, Gravesend); 4th, Peter Ebbins (Greenbaize, Bournemouth).

GROUP E: 1st, Anthony Cutler (Greenbaize, Bournemouth); 2nd, Steve Allen (Totton Rec); 3rd, Steve Ashton (Salisbury SC); 4th, Steve Read (Chandlers Ford SC); 5th, Neil Carroll (Chandlers Ford SC).

GROUP F: 1st, John Monckton (Top Q Club, Gloucester); 2nd, Frank Gumbrell (Salisbury); 3rd, Phil Morgan (Chandlers Ford SC); 4th, Kevin Collins (Jesters, Swindon); 5th, Kevin Palmer (Frames, Coulsdon).


LAST-16: Ford 2-0 Morgan, Phillips 2-0 Lawrence, Monckton 2-1 Wheatland, Cutler 2-0 Brock, Downey 2-0 Ashton, Hatfield 2-1 Gumbrell, Allen 2-1 Wallace, Hunter 2-1 Darken.

QUARTER-FINALS (12 pts, £10): Ford 2-0 Phillips, Monckton 2-1 Cutler, Hatfield 2-1 Downey, Hunter 2-0 Allen.

SEMI-FINALS (15 pts, £30): Hunter 2-1 Hatfield, Ford 2-1 Monckton.

FINAL (25/18 pts, £100/£60): Ford 2-0 Hunter.