Hunter cues back to front

FIVE-time champion John Hunter has returned to the top of the Cuestars Seniors (40+) Tour rankings.

The 55-year-old from Andover pocketed £100 in prize money for winning the second leg at The Crucible Sports & Social Club, Newbury.

Hunter (pictured, right) wrapped up a 2-0 victory over first-time finalist Nigel Phillips (left) with a 53 break.

It was the furthest that Phillips (Farnborough) had ever progressed in any Cuestars event.

Paul Lawrence (Southampton) climbed to sixth place after appearing in his first semi-final since January, 2020.

Martin Wallace (Wokingham), who beat Hunter in the final of the first leg in Fareham, went down 2-0 when the pair were draw together in the last-four.

Wallace slipped to second place, 13 points ahead of beaten quarter-finalist Wayne Muddiman. Phil Morgan (Salisbury) is fourth and Steve Allen (Southampton) is fifth.

Hunter recorded the day’s highest break of 63 in the group stages.

And he leads former champion Morgan in the Masters rankings, which includes points earned by over-55 players on the Seniors Tour.

The tournament, sponsored by The Crucible Sports & Social Club, attracted a high-quality field of 21.

Discover more about The Crucible at

Chandlers Ford Snooker Club hosts the third leg of eight on Sunday, January 30.


John Hunter: 63, 62, 53, 53.
Alex Greenham: 53.
Steve Ashton: 48.
Nigel Phillips: 45, 40.
Dan Hammond: 43
Steve Allen: 40.


GROUP A: 1st, Steve Allen (Totton Rec); 2nd, Martin Wallace (Crucible, Newbury); 3rd, Kevin Collins (Jesters, Swindon); 4th, Graham Leech (Crucible, Newbury); 5th, Neil Carroll (Chandlers Ford SC).

GROUP B: 1st, John Hunter (Salisbury SC); 2nd, Paul Lawrence (Park Gate RBL); 3rd, Alex Greenham (Greenbaize, Bournemouth); 4th, Steve Ashton (Salisbury SC); 5th, Pat Patel (Crucible, Newbury).

GROUP C: 1st, Dan Hammond (Chandlers Ford SC); 2nd, Nigel Phillips (Sovereign, Farnborough); 3rd, Phil Morgan (Chandlers Ford SC); 4th, Steve Read (Chandlers Ford SC); 5th, George Apperley (Crucible, Newbury).

GROUP D: 1st, Wayne Muddiman (Chandlers Ford Central); 2nd, Steve Wheatland (Chandlers Ford SC); 3rd, Neil Herd (Salisbury SC); 4th, Darren Johnson (Petersfield Bowls & SC); 5th, David Brock (Exeter SC); 6th, Simon Peacock (Salisbury SC).


QUARTER-FINALS (12 pts): Phillips 2-1 Allen, Lawrence 2-0 Muddiman, Hunter 2- Wheatland, Wallace 2-0 Hammond.

SEMI-FINALS (15 pts, £30): Phillips 2-0 Lawrence, Hunter 2-0 Wallace.

FINAL (25/18 pts, £100/£50): Hunter 2-0 Phillips.