And that’s a wrap for Devlin

FORMER professional Peter Devlin prevailed in a high-scoring final to clinch the opening leg of the Cuestars Championship Tour.

The 27-year-old Londoner pocketed £250 after beating reigning rankings champion Wayne Townsend (Northolt) 3-2 at Chandlers Ford Snooker Club.

Devlin made breaks of 51, 54 and 71 while Townsend put together an 87 and then forced a decider with a 127 clearance.

There were two other centuries among the 27 recorded breaks of 50 or more. Evan Plummer (Coulsdon) made a 103 clearance against William Thomson (Chandler’s Ford) in the last 32. And Dharminder Lilly (Fareham) missed the 15th black on a maximum chance in the quarter-finals against Cuestars debutant Luke James (Merthyr Tydfil).

The 2021/22 champion Marcos Dayao (Battersea Park) lost 3-2 to Devlin in the last-four. Townsend defeated former IBSF World Masters champion Lilly 3-1 in the second semi.

Bradley Cowdroy (Bournemouth), who was part of the England Under-21 A team that claimed the Home Internationals title in Leeds last month, beat Jack Dady (Basingstoke) 2-1 in the Plate final.

There were 34 runners for the tournament that was sponsored by Chandlers Ford SC member David Stewart to raise awareness of Sightsavers (, a charity that works to eliminate avoidable blindness and promote the rights of people with disabilities.

Jesters Snooker Club, Swindon, hosts the second leg of nine on Sunday, October 15. The rankings winner at the end of the season receives £600.


PRELIMS: William Thomson (56) 3-0 Shaun Hayman, Steve Read 0-3 Evan Plummer.

LAST-32: William Thomson 2-3 (103, 58) Evan Plummer, Matt Ford 1-3 Marcos Dayao, Mark Lloyd 3-0 Andy Darken, Chris Moulsdale 3-2 Sean Reeves, Peter Devlin (70) 3-0 Connor Benzey, Shane Hatfield 3-2 Neil Carroll, Will Forster 3-0 Kevin Collins, Ryan Spratt 3-1 Caden Read, Riley Ellis 3-1 Shane Kearns, Luke James 3-2 Daniel Williams, Dharminder Lilly 3-0 John Donovan, Bradley Cowdroy 1-3 Steve Wheatland, Dan Hall 0-3 Franco Carchedi, Jack Dady 2-3 (72) Paul Davis, Wayne Townsend (66) 3-1 (53) Aristos Pampouris, James Budd 3-2 Alex Greenham.

LAST-16: Evan Plummer 1-3 (62) Marcos Dayao, Mark Lloyd (63) 3-0 Chris Moulsdale, Peter Devlin 3-0 Shane Hatfield, Will Forster 3-2 Ryan Spratt, Riley Ellis 2-3 Luke James, Dharminder Lilly 3-0 Steve Wheatland, Franco Carchedi 1-3 Paul Davis, Wayne Townsend 3-0 James Budd.

QUARTER-FINALS: Marcos Dayao (84, 58) 3-0 Mark Lloyd, Peter Devlin (84) 3-1 Will Forster, Luke James 0-3 (113) Dharminder Lilly, Paul Davis 2-3 (66, 60) Wayne Townsend.

SEMI-FINALS (£60): Marcos Dayao (69) 2-3 (57) Peter Devlin, Dharminder Lilly 1-3 (74, 62) Wayne Townsend.

FINAL (£250/£100): Peter Devlin (71, 54, 51) 3-2 (127, 87) Wayne Townsend.


PRELIMS: Steve Read 1-2 John Donovan, Sean Reeves 0-2 (53) Bradley Cowdroy, Shane Kearns 1-2 Alex Greenham, Daniel Williams 1-2 Andy Darken, Neil Carroll (60) 2-0 Shaun Hayman, Jack Dady 2-1 Kevin Collins, Caden Read 0-2 Dan Hall.

QUARTER-FINALS: John Donovan 0-2 Bradley Cowdroy, Alex Greenham 2-1 Andy Darken, Neil Carroll 0-2 Jack Dady, Dan Hall 1-2 Aristos Pampouris.

SEMI-FINALS: Bradley Cowdroy 2-1 Alex Greenham, Jack Dady 2-1 Aristos Pampouris.

FINAL (£30/£10): Bradley Cowdroy (53) 2-1 Jack Dady.

By Tim Dunkley and Steven Hughes