Scoring machine Lee wins Swindon Seniors

LUN Lee was described as a “scoring machine” by organiser John Hunter after he won the sixth leg of the Cuestars Seniors Tour (40+) in Swindon.

The Orpington cueist recorded the day’s highest break of 95 plus six other runs of 40 or more in the event at Jesters Snooker Club.

Perhaps that left him fresher for the one-frame shootout with first-time finalist Matt Callow (Midhurst, West Sussex) in which he put together a 67.

Due to the large entry of 38, it proved to be another long day so both finalists agreed to split the £240 prize pot and play a single frame for the ranking points.

It was great to see Masters players Mark Thomas (Chorleywood) and Neil Carroll (Rownhams) having a right old ding-dong match for a semi-final spot.

Andrew Vernon (Woodley) made the last-four for the second successive event. Thomas reached that stage for the first time.

None of the top-four in the rankings made the semi-finals. It means that front-runner Paul Davis (Wareham), who was knocked out 2-1 by Callow in the last-eight, actually extended his advantage over second-placed Jason Pusser (Bournemouth).

Salisbury Snooker Club hosts the seventh leg of nine on Sunday, March 24.


Lun Lee: 95, 67, 61, 56, 43, 42, 40.
Matt Callow: 73, 62, 40.
Neil Herd: 72.
Nigel Phillips: 64, 52.
Jason Pusser: 61, 52.
Andrew Vernon: 59, 44, 41.
David Moritz: 50.
Paul Lawrence: 48.
Dennis Tristram: 47.
Mark Burrell: 47.
Ian Finch: 40.


GROUP A: 1st, Paul Davis (Greenbaize, Bournemouth); 2nd, Mark Thomas (Shots, Watford); 3rd, Kevin Morris (Woking SC); 4th, Steve Read (Chandlers Ford SC).

GROUP B: 1st, Neil Jefferis (Ightham Club); 2nd, Martin Wallace (Crucible, Newbury); 3rd, Mark Burrell (Jesters, Swindon); 4th, Jagatram Gurung (Crucible, Reading).

GROUP C: 1st, Lun Lee (Orpington); 2nd, Jason Pusser (St James Institute, Bournemouth); 3rd, Steve Wheatland (Chandlers Ford SC); 4th, Tim Poston (Midhurst Club); 5th, Graham Leech (Crucible, Newbury).

GROUP D: 1st, David Moritz (Shots, Watford); 2nd, Nick O’Sullivan (Crucible, Reading); 3rd, Steve Ashton (Salisbury SC); 4th, Ian Finch (Park Gate RBL); 5th, Kieran O’Donovan (Frames, Coulsdon).

GROUP E: 1st, Darren Johnson (Petersfield Bowls & Snooker Club); 2nd, Paul Lawrence (Park Gate RBL); 3rd, Ray Grall (Hayes WMC); 4th, Simon Peacock (Salisbury SC); 5th, Raj Puri (Hartley Country Club).

GROUP F: 1st, Nigel Phillips (Sovereign SC, Farnborough); 2nd, Andrew Vernon (Windlesham Club); 3rd, Phil Butler (Greenbaize, Bournemouth); 4th, Kevin Palmer (Frames, Coulsdon; 5th, Andy Darken (Feltham Constitutional Club).

GROUP G: 1st, Neil Herd (Salisbury SC); 2nd, Dennis Tristram (Shots, Watford); 3rd, Paul Bailey (Greenbaize, Bournemouth); 4th, Sanjay Gurung (Crucible, Reading); 5th, Peter Ebbins (Greenbaize).

GROUP H: 1st, Matt Callow (Chichester City Club); 2nd, Neil Carroll (Chandlers Ford SC); 3rd, Franco Carchedi (Jesters, Swindon); 4th, Damian Henners (Greenbaize); 5th, Nick Merritt (Midhurst Club).


LAST-16 (10 points): Davis 2-0 Wallace, Callow 2-0 Tristram, Vernon 2-0 Johnson, Moritz 2-0 Pusser, Lee 2-0 O’Sullivan, Phillips 2-0 Lawrence, Carroll 2-1 Herd, Thomas 2-0 Jefferis.

QUARTER-FINALS (12 pts, £15): Callow 2-1 Davis, Vernon 2-1 Moritz, Lee 2-0 Phillips, Thomas 2-1 Carroll.

SEMI-FINALS (15 pts, £40): Callow 2-1 Vernon, Lee 2-0 Thomas.

FINAL (25/18 pts, £120/£120): Lee 1-0 Callow.

Picture: Matt Callow (left) and Lun Lee