Townsend records two tons in Championship Tour success

­WAYNE Townsend fired in two century breaks en route to clinching the first leg of the Frames Sports Bar Championship Tour.

The west Londoner emerged victorious from a massive 33-strong field to pocket the £250 first prize at The Crucible Sports & Social Club, Newbury.

Townsend kicked off a 3-1 final victory with runs of 109 and 77 against Ryan Mears (Aldershot), who collected £100.

Earlier, he knocked in 100 in his 3-2 quarter-final success against Adam Guyatt (Salisbury). And Townsend, who hails from Northolt and is based at Hayes Working Men’s Club, beat former professional Billy Castle (Reading) 3-1 in the last-four.

Home player Dale Prout lost 3-1 in the last-four to Mears and, along with Castle, received £50.

Adam Stacey (Poplar) beat Dan Sykes (Chandler’s Ford) 2-1 in the final of the Plate competition for players losing their first match in the main competition.

It was a measure of the quality of the field for the Cuestars tournament, sponsored by Reading-based PL Auto Services, that 39 breaks of 50 or more were recorded.

Cuestars director John Hunter was delighted with the turnout for the first Championship Tour event since the Covid-19 pandemic brought an early end to the 2019/20 season 17 months ago.

He said: “It was a great standard and a great atmosphere. I think everyone was just happy to be competing again and catching up with their fellow players.”

Fareham Snooker Club hosts the second leg of three on Sunday, August 22.


Wayne Townsend: 109, 100, 80, 77, 65, 53, 52.
Billy Castle: 88, 81, 80, 51, 50.
Ryan Mears: 84, 68, 68, 62, 56, 52.
Matt Ford: 78, 58, 65, 50.
Adam Nash: 77.
Dale Prout: 70, 63, 53.
Garry Coulson: 68.
Dan Sykes: 67.
Adam Guyatt: 66.
Paul Norris: 63, 58, 51.
Ryan Hughes: 61.
Carl Davies: 56.
Stuart Watson: 56, 50.
Adam Stacey: 52.
Anthony Rice: 51.
Mike Finn: 50.


PRELIM: Ryan Mears 3-0 Phil Watson.

LAST-32: Adam Nash 3-0 David Rice, Mike Finn 3-1 Simon Dent, Steven Nevett 3-2 Lewis Miles, Mears 3-0 Adam Stacey, Ryan Hughes 3-0 Lance Tucker, Dale Prout 3-0 Peter Ebbins, Matt Ford 3-0 Daniel Hall, Garry Coulson 3-0 George Apperley, Rob Donohoe 3-2 Andrew Darken, Billy Castle 3-2 Carl Davies, Austen Petty 3-0 George Heatley, Paul Norris 3-0 Andy Norman, Neil Craycraft 3-1 Jason Pusser, Adam Guyatt 3-1 Anthony Rice, Wayne Townsend 3-1 Dan Sykes, Stuart Watson 3-0 James Cullen.

LAST-16: Finn 3-0 Nash, Mears 3-1 Nevett, Prout 3-1 Hughes, Ford 3-0 Coulson, Castle 3-1 Donohoe, Norris 3-2 Petty, Guyatt 3-1 Craycraft, Townsend 3-0 S Watson.
QUARTER-FINALS: Mears 3-1 Finn, Prout 3-1 Ford, Castle 3-1 Norris, Townsend 3-2 Guyatt.

SEMI-FINALS (£50): Mears 3-1 Prout, Townsend 3-1 Castle.

FINAL (£250/£100): Townsend 3-1 Mears.


LAST-16: Cullen 2-0 Apperley, Stacey 2-0 Hall, D Rice 2-1 Darken, A Rice 2-1 Dent, Miles 2-0 P Watson, Pusser 2-1 Tucker, Sykes beat Ebbins, Davies 2-0 Heatley.

QUARTER-FINALS: Stacey 2-0 Cullen, A Rice 2-0 D Rice, Miles 2-0 Pusser, Sykes 2-1 Davies.

SEMI-FINALS: Stacey 2-0 A Rice, Sykes 2-1 Miles.

FINAL (£35/£15): Stacey 2-1 Sykes.